8/14/16 – RPS Peak Performance Meet Prep – Week 2, Day 2

Training continues to move along with another solid max effort lower body day. This session was also my last before moving back down to campus and training once again at the co-rec. I look forward to getting back to training with my teammates but first I had a little more work to put in. Today’s session went as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Competition Squat
    • 135×5, 225×5, 275×5, 315×5, 365×3, 405×3, 445x2x3
  • Paused Squat
    • 275×6, 295×6, 315×6
  • Sumo Romanian Deadlift
    • 225×10, 245×10, 275×10
  • Leg Extension – 3×20
  • Stir the Pot – 3×20

I was fortunate enough to have my brother accompany me to the gym today which was one less thing I had to worry about as he is a perfect spotter candidate. I made sure to put a little extra into my warm-up routine today because I was/am still sore from my dynamic lower training last week. I was pleasantly surprised with how good I felt going through my warm-up sets and 445 moved better than I could have imagined. It has been a long time since I have done heavy competition style squats and I can tell that my offseason work is really carrying over. My technical and physical improvements were very noticeable. All in all I had a very solid training day and took another step toward a successful meet prep. I will be moving down to Purdue over the next few days where I will be reunited with my training partners to finish out this program and hit the platform together. Until next time!

Leave a comment