8/12/16 – RPS Peak Performance Meet Prep – Week 1, Day 4

Today’s training rounds out the first full week of meet prep so it is time to share my plan, goals, and progress thus far as I move towards my first meet of this school year on September 17th. As always I aim to go through meet prep without missing a lift, as I should, and have done so during this first week. Everything is moving very well after my full deload week of rest and recovery. I have felt nearly 100% every time I have hit the gym this week and hope to maintain that trend moving forward. Today’s training broke down as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squat (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Bands)
    • 205x8x2
    • 225×5, 275×5, 295×5, 315×5
  • Speed Deadlift (vs. Elitefts Short Light Bands)
    • 275x5x1
  • Dumbbell Shrugs
    • 90×15, 95×15, 100×15
  • Back Hypers – 50 Reps
  • Pikes – 3×12

During my week off of heavy lifting I had some time to develop a game plan for this meet prep. To do this I looked over past meet prep programs, training log posts, and meet results in an attempt to more clearly see what has been working for me in the past and bring it all together into one unified plan for the coming weeks. After thinking long and hard here are a few of the guidelines I have set forth for myself during this prep…

  1. No missed lifts. Period.
  2. I will begin every training session with my  warm-up specific for that type of training day and end every session with general recovery work. No shortcuts on this even if I am short on time.
  3. Don’t screw myself by trying to fit a full training session into a small time window. Make the time I need and use it. Shortcuts turn into injuries and mistakes as I have learned more than once in the past.
  4. Protect the back. Ice, recovery movements, and proper form will be paramount during these weeks.
  5. KEEP MY CALORIES UP! This is my first meet in 2 years that I will not have to cut for. In fact, I am still 10 pounds underweight so I need to use this to my advantage. There is no excuse this go ’round for not having energy during my sessions.
  6. Have a blast and smash weight.

The last one might sound a little corny but it is all too easy to forget that we are doing this because it is fun and we enjoy it. I have experienced a few stretches of training where I let my sessions become a chore and forgot the reason I got into the gym in the first place. I’m not saying that you are always going to be psyched to hit the gym but never let yourself get torn down to the point of resentment for the iron. One of the main reasons I chose not to cut for this meet was because I wanted to experience the joy of being able to focus on my lifting and strength during a meet prep instead of my calorie count.

As I said before, so far I have nailed all of my heavy lifts as I should. I am in my final week of work which is a load off my shoulders but also signals the coming of new responsibility with the start of school. As always, with the help of my team, I will be going head first into the new challenges of the year and make the most of this final year of school. It is almost time to hit the books again. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

