2/10/17 – Dynamic Effort Lower

As Christian Anto mentioned to me yesterday, “The last few days of training before a meet are bittersweet, aren’t they.” Winding down a meet prep cycle does in fact have a weird feeling to it. For the past 5 weeks I have been ramping up to the heaviest weight I have had on my back since at least the previous meet and then, right as you are feeling as strong as ever, the weights go from 100 to 0. That is how today was for me, everything moved very well from warm ups to my last set of abs but with the lack of work I had on the schedule today it just seemed too easy. It will all pay off next weekend when it is time to bring all of it and more to the platform but when you have been training and conditioning yourself for months to push a little harder or go a little farther, sessions like this just leave you wanting more. The session went as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squat (vs. Elitefts Pro Average Bands)
    • 275x6x2
  • Speed Deadlift (vs. Elitefts Short Average Bands)
    • 285x4x1
  • Band Leg Curl (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Band)
    • 3×20
  • Band Ab Pulldowns (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Band)
    • 3×15

On the bright side, I was able to get down to NBS Fitness in Memphis, TN to lift today. Getting to see Christian and David Allen is always a pleasure and having them around for training is a god send. I even got to take my final speed squats of meet prep out of a mono and get used to setting up correctly. These last two weeks of prep everything has fallen together nearly complete and all that is left is to rest, recover, and make weight for this meet. Yes, I have chosen to once again compete at 242 and will be starting my water cut on Sunday. A couple of diet changes has had the weight falling off by the day over the past week and so far this has been the easiest cut of my life. I have learned a lot from cutting down in the past and it is showing this time around. Keep an eye out for video and write-up coming out post meet day. My openers are set, the hotel is booked, and my teammates and I are ready to show them what we got once again. All aboard the gain train, lets do this. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

