1/16/17 – Max Effort Upper – 5 Weeks Out

Bench pressing continues to feel very solid as I move into week 2 of meet prep. The percentages were bumped up slightly this week with reduced rep schemes. Everything is moving fairly quickly and by that I don’t just mean the weights, I mean this prep itself! The sessions are flying by but maybe its just me getting used to this prep schedule. Either way, my bench attempts and accessory work went as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Bench Press
    • 45×10, 95×5, 135×5, 185×5, 225×2, 255×3
    • 285x2x3
    • 295x3x2
  • Dumbbell Incline Bench
    • 50×12, 60×12, 70×12
  • Chest Supported Row
    • 110×12, 120×12, 130×12, 140×12
  • Dips – 3×12
  • Band Flys – 50 Reps
  • Band Pressdowns – 50 Reps
  • Band Pull Aparts – 100 Reps
  • Band Ab Pulldowns – 4×12

I could definitely tell that the extra 10 pounds had been added to the bar when I moved to 295 for my three doubles but I set up like I have been practicing, let it sink in and moved all three sets just the way I wanted to. After having ran a volume program for 4 weeks, these training days feel like they are too short but I know I need to let myself recover more from these bigger weights. Whenever I find myself second guessing something that I am doing I just have to remind myself that I have Brandon write these programs for me for a reason. He hasn’t let me down yet and knows what he is doing. The last thing you want to do during a meet prep is to overdo it and put yourself out of a meet (e.i. train smarter not harder). There is no sense in hitting a bunch of accessory work if it does not help you move toward peaking on meet day. There is definitely a time and place for volume work to build a muscular base but during meet prep is not that time, especially a six week prep. I will be taking my first heavy squats tomorrow evening after our Spring Call-Out. Hopefully I will be able to get some videos for those. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

