1/11/16 – Max Effort Lower – 6 Weeks Out

Meet prep has arrived. Today was my first of three max effort deadlift sessions during this program leading up to the RPS Mafia Mayhem meet in approx. 6 weeks. I was very happy with how my pulls moved today and was even able to get a couple of my top sets on video for once. My four week stint in hypertrophy work seems to have my joints and back feeling great. I can already tell that I am going to enjoy this prep and feel like I am set up to knock down some big numbers come February 18th. Here is how training broke down today…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Sumo Deadlift
    • 135×5, 225×3, 275×3, 315×3, 365×3, 405×2, 445×2, 475x2x2
  • Rack Pull (Below Knee)
    • 315×3, 405×3, 455×3, 495×3
  • Leg Press
    • 585×15, 635×15, 675×15
  • Glute-Ham Raise – 3×12
  • Stir the Pot – 3×15

Between max effort bench and deadlift over the last couple days all of my numbers have felt to be on point. It seems like the last month or so has been a rollercoaster of moving around and working out in new places so it feels nice to be back in the corec around the equipment I have been using the most over the past 4 years. I love being able to meet new people and train in new gyms but when it comes to meet prep I will take consistency over a lot of things. I was not able to get my second set of 475 on deads videoed today so you will just have to believe me when I say that it moved a lot faster than the first set which is shown above. Overall my body is feeling better than it has going into a prep in a long time but I have learned that when you feel the best is when you have to put the most effort into recovery techniques and warming up properly. This will be my final powerlifting meet with Purdue Barbell and I intend to go out with a bang. Two more dynamic day are left this week before we roll right along into week two of meet prep. This is gonna be a good one. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

