1/4/16 – Week 4, Day 2 – Chest/Shoulders

This volume program keeps moving right along and brings me to the final chest/shoulder day before I start my meet prep next week. Technically, I am 7 weeks out from the RPS Mafia Mayhem meet that we will be competing in and I am very ready to start moving bigger weights in preparation for the platform. I have been enjoying the amount of incline and dumbbell work that this program contains. Taking this time to focus on building muscle groups instead of individual lifts has allowed my little nagging aches heal up and, in my opinion, has my bench feeling better than it ever has. I look forward to a great inprovement on the bench press come meet day. Today’s training went as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Slightly Inclined Dumbbell Bench
    • 85x3x8, 90x2x8
  • Incline Bench Press
    • 185×8, 205×8, 225×8, 245×7
  • Machine Press – 3×8
  • Dips – 2 Sets (10 Reps, 11 Reps)
  • Rear Delt Raises – 3×25
  • Lateral Raises – 3×10
  • Machine Overhead Press – 95×10, 115×10, 135×10
  • Band Pull Aparts – 3 AMRAP Sets
  • Ab Wheel Rollouts – 4×10
  • Deficit Pushups – 3×12

For the rest of this week, I am not sure if I am going to finish out the final back day and arm day of this program. On the one hand I would like to finish all of the training days, but on the other it may be beneficial for me to take a small deload from the gym until I jump into heavier weights once met prep begins next week. I believe it will just have to be a day to day decision as to what I feel is the best move for me in order to begin meet prep at 100%. The current goals from now until meet day is train as hard as possible and smartly as possible meaning to gain as much strength as possible while also avoiding injury. For now I will rest up and begin preparing both mentally and physically for a great run these next six weeks. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

