12/27/16 – Volume Legs – Week 3, Day 1

My time being spent running a volume program has officially passed the halfway point. Every time I get in the gym I feel a little bit healthier and with a higher level of mobility. This being the case, I am beginning to get the itch for moving heavy weights again. It will be another 2 full weeks before I begin my meet prep and start putting circa max weight on the bar. Knowing this has me excited to see how going into a meet prep free from nagging injuries will have me feeling but also makes the time seem to drag by. Today’s volume leg training went as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Seated Leg Curls – 4×10
  • Leg Press
    • 3 Plates x8, 4 Plates x8, 4 1/2 Plates x8, 5 Plates x8
  • Single Leg, Leg Press
    • 2 Plates for 3×8
  • Paused Squats
    • 135×8, 165×8, 185×8, 225×8, 275×8
  • Dumbbell Stiff Leg Deadlift – 3×12
  • Calf Raises – 4×10
  • Cable Ab Pulldowns – 4×15

This being the halfway point for my volume training, I thought I would take an inventory of sorts to see what I have noticed over the last two weeks and what I may change for the next two. Here are a few items that came to mind…

  1. Development: My muscles have not grown as they have in the past while running volume programs in the past which puzzled me at first but I now attribute that to the lowered rep schemes this program utilizes. Although this program is technically a hypertrophy driven program, Brandon has dropped the reps enough on the bigger, compound movements in order to allow me to get a taste for what could be considered higher rep powerlifting training. I am hoping that this pays big dividends when I hit meet prep and I will be ready to handle to big weights.
  2. Remembering my purpose for training: Running this program does me no good if I am still banged up at the end. My reasoning for using this program was to allow my lower back to heal up before attempting to prep for a meet. After the leg day during the first week, I realized that I had put a little too much strain on my back and that if I expected it to recover as quickly as possible, I needed to protect it. Instead of attempting heavier weights and going all out I have had to be patient and focus on time under tension instead. This small change in focus has paid off greatly.
  3. Conditioning: It doesn’t matter how strong you are if you aren’t in condition to finish the workout or even all the sets. Looking back to the first week of this increased workload, my muscular endurance was certainly lacking. Granted, I rarely train compound movements with sets of 20 and don’t necessarily need to to increase my single rep capability on the big three lifts but it is still an important component in training. The better my training conditioning is, the harder I can lift.

I plan to take very few days off from the gym during the next week and a half. I still plan to condense the next seven days of training into a week and a half in order to take a mini-deload next week before getting into meet prep. I am already stoked to get back on campus and start prepping with my teammates. The countdown has started for me and my days are numbered until I get back on the platform. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

