12/20/16 – Volume Chest/Shoulders – Week 2, Day 2

I managed to set some PRs today? But Josh how can you be setting PRs while running a volume program? I’m so confused, you’re supposed to be recovering…

All this is true but unless you have ran a program by Brandon before it would be hard to explain. Brandon Smitley is great at throwing in something just heavy enough to feel like you’re powerlifting while simultaneously giving you a pump that splits the skin and brings the veins out to play. Today just happened to have a couple different pressing movements programmed in that allowed me to set some higher rep PRs and made me feel like I may not have a poverty bench at the February meet. Training today went as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Machine Press
    • 100×25, 125×20, 150×15, 175×10
  • Incline Bench
    • 185×5, 205×5, 225×5, 245×5, 255×5 (PR)
  • Bench Press
    • 185×8, 225×8, 245×8, 275×6 (PR)
  • Seated Lateral Raises – 4×10
  • Dumbbell Rear Delt Flys – 4×25
  • Overhead Press
    • 95×6, 115×6, 135×6
  • Situps – 4×20

To put these PRs into perspective, looking at my PR book after this session, I did not have a previous PR for either of these lifts at these rep schemes so its already a personal record. However, my current PR for incline bench at 3 reps is also 255 which means that next offseason I need to blow that SOB out of the water. As for the regular bench press, I was supposed to get that last set for 8 full reps according to the program but instead of making the safe 20lb jump which I’m sure I would have nailed, I got greedy and went all the way to 275. Although this is a PR simply because I never do bench press for 6 reps (or 8 reps for that matter) I need to watch this in during the rest of this volume cycle to make sure I’m getting all my reps/sets in.  Only a back and arm workout left to go this week and then I am already half way through this volume program. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

