12/11/16 – Volume Legs – Week 1, Day 1

I’m a bodybuilder now!

Just kidding of course but I will be training like it for the next four weeks. After going to the doctor with my lower back issue and subsequently talking to Brandon about what I should do for training, we have decided that it is best that I run a hybrid hypertrophy based program that will allow my joints and muscles to recover fully before I hit meet prep. I will go into detail about what all this entails but first here is how training went down today…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Leg Curls
    • 120×15, 140×12, 170×10, 200×8, 130×20
  • Leg Press
    • 570×10, 620×10, 660×10, 710×10, 750×10, 800×10, 840×10, 890×10
  • Squat
    • 135×20, 165×20, 185×20, 225×20
  • Leg Extension – 3×12
  • Walking Lunges – 1 Set to Failure
  • Dumbbell Stiff Leg Deadlifts – 3×12

Holy Squats! I do not think that I have ever done twenty reps of squats in my entire life, that means its a PR right? I think it does. Today’s session completely wrecked me in a good way. I even had to make a trip to the restroom after the last set at 225 on squats to empty the contents of my stomach. I have not trained this intensely in a long time and was glad to share the pain of it with two of my teammates; Ethan Lenn and Dillon Lawrence. We all drug our half alive bodies out of the gym knowing we got better during this session.

As much as I dislike the idea of not moving max effort weight around before going to meet prep the idea of starting heavy work without any nagging issues is very enticing. After going to the doctor it looks as though I am messing up my SI joint for one reason or another. A few things I know about this issue is that it does not happen all the time and rarely happens under max effort weight. On the contrary, it usually occurs while I am still in warm up sets. The consensus right now seems to be that I have a muscular imbalance somewhere or a tight area that is pulling the joint out of whack. I am not a physiology major nor do I claim to know more than I do so I will continue to research this issue, increase my flexibility, and see if we can’t get this thing fixed. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

