11/19/16 – Week 4, Day 4 – Dynamic Effort Upper

Week 4 was wrapped up a couple days ago with a solid dynamic chest training session. One of the upgrades that the campus gym received this semester was the addition of some removable benches for the power racks. This allows us to now utilize the pegs which are on the racks for speed bench work as well as the reverse band movements we have used this cycle for max effort work. It is a great addition to our training to have the added consistency of the bands in the racks instead of having to rig them up as best as possible as we had in years past. My body is becoming more accustomed to the offseason training schedule by the day and I am cranking up the volume during each session. Today’s training went as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Bench (vs. Elitefts Short Mini Bands)
    • 135x9x3, 175×5, 205×5, 225×7
  • Arnold Press
    • 45×15, 50×15, 50×13
  • Under-hand Mag Bar Cable Row
    • 160×20, 180×20, 180×15, 200×15, 220×12
  • Rear Delt Cable Cross – 3×15
  • Spud Strap Tricep Pressdowns – 4×20
  • Dumbbell Bicep Curl – 3×12
  • Stir the Pot – 3×20

We have officially picked the team powerlifting meet for the spring semester which will be the RPS Mafia Mayhem meet on February 18th. It will be odd knowing that this is my last meet during which I will compete as a member of Purdue Barbell and I’m sure it will be a bittersweet experience to say the least. Selecting this meet puts me officially at 14 weeks out of the meet and sets me up for at least one more full offseason cycle with a few extra weeks of training thrown in there as well. For now I will stay the course and enjoy my progress which has been moving along surprisingly well. Tomorrow I will be starting the last two week stretch of this offseason program which means that the next four max effort days will be attempts for a heavy single. Tomorrow I will kick off the festivities with max effort front squats. For now I’m going to enjoy me some monday night football, a nice sized carb load, and an early start to Thanksgiving break for yours truly. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

