9/25/16 – Week 1, Day 1 – Max Effort Lower

I’m back at it hitting off-season training now that it has been a week since my competition. Last week I took it easy and hit a few high volume training days just to get the blood back into my muscles and facilitate recovery. Today, I put some weight back on the bar and jumped into a powerlifting program with another Purdue Barbell teammate of mine, Nic Edmondson. Nic and I are looking forward to bringing some new challenges to the table for each other. Today’s training went as follows…

  • Safety Squat Bar Squats
    • 55×5, 145×5, 235×5, 285×3, 325×3, 355×3, 375×3
    • 335x2x2
  • Paused Safety Squat Bar Squats
    • 235×6, 255×6, 275×6
  • Neutral Grip Lat Pulldown
    • 100×12, 120×12, 160×12
  • Hack Squats
    • 130×12, 150×12, 190×12
  • Leg Extension – 3×15
  • Stir the Pot – 3×15

For the first time in a couple years I am not running Brandon’s Beta Test program which is a little bit of a change for me. Nic is a very strong young man and will challenge me very much as a training partner. This is the first time in my life that I am training with someone who is stronger than me so I will have to adjust to being the weaker partner. This new experience is sure to bring around some new thoughts and opinions on my training so make sure to keep an eye out for some future posts on this topic.

I was still a little sore when I got under the bar today from my volume work last week but nothing that wasn’t tolerable. According to my PR book my last set of 375×3 on SSB squats is a 30lb PR for me which I am very happy about especially on my first day back into off-season training. I chose to cut my volume work down and get back into powerlifting training much sooner following this meet than meets past because of how little off-season time I was able to get in last Winter. After running a full 6 weeks of post meet volume training following last Fall’s meet, I was left with only 6 weeks to train for powerlifting before I had to jump into prep for the Spring meet. I am hoping that the extra time I am giving myself to move heavier weight will pay off with some substantial strength gains come this Spring. As always it is a work in progress, I will tweak things, learn, keep what works for me and cut out the crap that doesn’t. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

