9/7/16 – Peak Performance Power Meet Prep – 10 Days Out

Meet day is getting dangerously close and my training session are really beginning to reflect it. only three more session remain between now and next Saturday when my Purdue Barbell teammates and I will make the trip down to Brazil for our meet for this semester. This was my final dynamic lower day for this prep and everything is still moving very well. The lifts went as follows…

  • Steretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squat (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Bands)
    • 265x6x2
  • Speed Deadlift (vs. Elitefts Short Light Bands)
    • 275x4x1
  • Band Leg Curls (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Bands) – 3×20
  • Standing Ab Pulldowns – 4×15

As always at this point in prep, I have had the chance to reflect on this past offseason and take away a few pointers to remember in the future. This past summer was a struggle, everything from my schedule to health seemed to be against me in regards to my progress as a powerlifter and at times, if I’m being honest, it was simply not fun. That being said I make no excuses about this. I put myself in a position where training was not optimal or easy to complete and I have myself to blame for that. This was a big deal to me because lifting and training has always been my happy place. Over the summer I had to face something that I have never encountered before and that was the feeling of having to force myself into the gym. Through this experience though, I learned a lot about who I am as a competitor. I learned that there are times when you will be faced with the option to quit or to push through even when it doesn’t feel right at the time or your body just wants to give in. I learned that there will be hard times but if I push through them and remember my long term goals, that the dread will give way to a renewed desire to push harder and train like never before. For me, this transition happened when I traveled down to Memphis last weekend and trained at NBS Fitness. Just being in the environment of that place with the music blaring and free access to any and all the equipment I needed made all the difference. I was excited again and that has carried over into my training now even though I’m 8 hours away and back in the co-rec. I guess what I’m saying with all of this is to never let bad training experiences compile into a lasting negative feeling toward the gym. I had let a few nagging injuries and general bad training schedule of the summer drag me down to where I had lost my drive. It took a swift kick in the rear from a kick-ass gym full of people I want to be like one day and a little nose tork to clear the funk in my head. Now that I have had my moment of clarity, I can once again see my goals straight ahead of me and can make the necessary adjustments to get there. You will be seeing a lot more posts by me in the near future as I develop my next game plan following this meet.

Now that that has been laid out for you lets get down to the important sh*t. As you can see my training sessions are down to the bare minimum at this point. Today’s training was definitely geared more towards practicing setup and technique than anything else. I have three days of training left; a dynamic upper, and two light mobility days before shutting it down to meet day. tomorrow I will knock out the dynamic day and plan to have the other two days done by Monday. I will still probably be in the gym most day but only for some recovery, stretching, and rolling. All that is left is to throw down on Sept. 17th. To be clear, even though I may have had a rocky few months I still was in the gym for all my programmed training days and I am definitely stronger. I have no doubt I will have a great meet a week from Saturday but I also have a renewed excitement for the offseason training to come. I just have to take one thing at a time. I will leave you with a workout song to add to your playlist! Until next time.

 

Leave a Reply

