9/5/16 – Peak Performance Power Meet Prep – 13 Days Out

I traveled down to Memphis over this holiday weekend and was fortunate enough to train at NBS Fitness during my stay. David Allen, the owner, and Christian Anto were both very gracious in setting me up to hit my last heavy deadlift training day while I was down here. Their staff and facilities were top notch which allowed me to finish out my ME Lower days without missing a beat. The session went as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Sumo Deadlift
    • 135×5, 225×5, 275×5, 315×3, 365×3, 405×2, 455×1, 485×1
    • 515×1 (Opener, Good)
    • 545×1(Second from Blocks, Good)
  • Bent Over Rows
    • 95×15, 115×15, 135×15
  • Reverse Hypers
    • 90×15, 140×15, 180×15
  • Double Overhand Shrug
    • 135×15, 185×15, 205×15
  • Cable Ab Pulldowns – 4×20

It was so nice to be able to train in an environment where it was apparent that the management wanted me to be able to train as hard as possible. Just from listening to these videos you can tell that the entire atmosphere was geared toward going hard and moving weight. I cannot thank the NBS staff enough as they did everything from show me around to filming my attempts. You can bet that whenever I find myself in the Memphis area I will be training at NBS.

All that being said, as far as prep goes, I’m basically down to one more heavy bench day before I shut it down and hit a couple light days focusing on recovery going into meet day. Although meet prep may have started off a little rocky everything has come together in the last couple weeks and I am as confident as ever that this meet will be a success. All that is left to do is listen to my body, rest up, and let all the hard work pay off on the platform come September 17th. Until then!

 

Leave a Reply

