8/28/16 – RPS Peak Performance Meet Prep – Week 4, Day 1

A group of us from Purdue Barbell travelled down to Brandon’s garage gym in Terre Haute today in order to get some heavy work put in towards our meet prep. Most of the guys hit their squat attempts while I opted to get my benching in while I had Brandon there to help and coach me live. The plan went off very well and I hit all my attempts including a 5lb PR for my second and a nice reverse band third attempt that is very possible on meet day when I’m going full bore. Training broke down as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Bench Press
    • 55×10, 105×10, 145×5, 195×5, 235×3, 265×3, 285×1
    • 305x2x1 Opener
    • 320×1 Second
    • 335×1 Third (Reverse Bands)
  • Dumbbell Bench Press
    • 65×12 75×12 85×12
  • Dumbbell Skull Crushers
    • 55×15, 65×15, 75×15
  • Band Fly – 50 Reps
  • Band Pressdown – 50 Reps
  • Band Pull Apart – 100 Reps

The switch back to benching before squatting seems to be working out and I am not getting bothered by my elbow anymore. Everything seems to be right back on track as I move to within 3 weeks of meet day. Having settled back into my school routine I have now had the chance to put more thought and focus into my training and I am regaining the drive that had subsided slightly over the past month or two. It is easy to lose focus and become disheartened when little aches and pains sneak into your training. Being hurt or not feeling well is a good way to start resenting the gym in a heartbeat. I wouldn’t say that I have been resenting having to train over the past couple weeks but it definitely isn’t as fun as when you are feeling great. I have developed the way I do things for myself during my short powerlifting career to minimize times like that but I am no where near my potential and have to continue learning from the hard times. A big thank you goes out to everyone that has supported me and helped out along the way.

On a seperate note, we are having our Purdue Barbell call out this Wednesday at 7:30pm in MATH 175. If you are interested at all please come on down, meet our officers/coaches, and see what we are all about. The gain train is coming and you do not want to miss what we have in store for this year!

Leave a Reply

