7/22/16 – Week 6, Day 4 – Dynamic Effort Lower

The sixth week is in the books and that also means I’m another week closer to meet prep. With this slightly extended training block I am currently in, I will be hitting one more week of offseason training before taking a deload and starting prep. Today’s dynamic session went as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squat
    • 315x6x2
  • Speed Deadlift (vs. Elitefts Short Light Bands)
    • 345x4x1, 345×5
  • Walking Lunges – 3×12 (each leg)
  • Pull Throughs – 4×15
  • Lat Pulldown – 4×15
  • Stir the Pot – 4×20
  • Side Hangs – 3×10

I was supposed to have two more drop sets tacked on to the end of my deadlifting work but ended up calling it after my set of 5. Every once in a while, especially during weeks when I have already done max effort deadlifting, dynamic deadlifts will make my lower back flare up and give me grief. I have never been able pinpoint the exact reasoning but I believe it has something to do with the added pressure of having bands and the way in which they pull me forward that compromises my lower back. After my set of 5 I could feel things slipping out of place and knew that I needed to call it on the speed work for the day. This close to meet prep I am not willing to put my ability to train hard on the line just for a few speed reps. After coming to terms with my decision mentally, I moved on to my accessory work and had a solid session. I am very much looking forward to a nice down week and even more so toward getting into prep. Meet day will be here before we know it and I will be ready! Until next time.

Leave a Reply

