6/30/16 – Week 3, Day 4 – Dynamic Effort Lower

Today’s session wraps up the first week of my new training schedule and so far I am enjoying the changes that I have made. Primarily, I have placed my upper body session before my lower body sessions during the training week after putting it off for a long time. This seems to be taking care of some of the shoulder/elbow irritation I have been dealing with lately during my bench workouts. The last session for this week went as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squats (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Bands)
    • 260x6x2
    • 250×5, 285×3, 315×5
  • Speed Deadlift (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Band)
    • 330x4x1
  • Bulgarian Split Squats – 3×15
  • Glute-Ham Raise – 4×10
  • Pull-Ups – 4 Sets to Failure
  • Hanging Leg Raise – 4×10

I was fortunate enough to train at my old high school gym today after helping out with a lineman camp that they were putting on for the football team. It is always nice to catch up with my old mentors and get a lift in at the gym I was brought up in. Having the weights all to myself along with a sound system to blast was a great change and I left the gym today feeling refreshed. This weekend, being a holiday, I am going to be traveling and seeing family so I am prepared for an extra down day to rest an recover. My plan is to hit a mini-deload type of training day over the weekend and then be back at it hard on Tuesday when the gym is open again.

Now that I have my training times and days fairly locked in, I am able to stop worrying about when I’m getting to the gym and start focusing on my intensity I’m bringing with me. This summer has been a challenge so far with a rigorous work schedule and increased responsibility but I’m viewing it as a valuable experience for me in regards to my training and how to adapt to my situation. Switching my training day rotation does seem to be helping out with my recovery between sessions and puts me in a better position throughout the week to train as hard as possible. The only thing that I am still trying to get worked out is keeping up with managing the Barbell Club’s accounts and members. There is still a lot to get through on my to-do list but thankfully it is at least starting to get some attention. The good news is that my training is not suffering at all even if my log posting has been intermittent. Over the coming weeks my focus will be on taking care of items that need to be finished before the school year starts and continuing to lock in my training schedule. I am feeling stronger every time I hit the gym which is all I can ask for. Until next time!

 

Leave a Reply

