6/16/16 – Week 1, Day 3 – Dynamic Effort Lower

My “weekend” comes to a close today as I start my work week tomorrow morning. I used these off days to put together a couple solid training days, travelling to Purdue and lifting with Ethan on Tuesday then hitting my first dynamic lower day of the program today. Dynamic days are always a little different as they require a lot of mental focus in order to get the most out of the reps with sub-maximal weight on the bar. Today I really focused on my setup and explosion at the bottom of the lifts. The session went as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squats (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Bands)
    • 205x10x2, 215×5, 255×5, 285×6
  • Speed Deadlifts (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Band)
    • 275x8x1
  • Bulgarian Split Squats
    • 60×10, 70×10, 75×10
  • Band Leg Curls (Using Elitefts Pro Light Band) – 4×20
  • Neutral Grip Lat Pulldowns – 3×20
  • Stir the Pot – 4×15

One of the few nice things about training without a permanent training partner during the summer is the opportunity it affords me to pay closer attention to the details that come along with training whether that is my mentality going into the gym or my recovery in between sets. Don’t get me wrong, I miss training with my teammates and not being able to cheer them on daily. Being able to focus on fine tuning some of the points in my lifts that are lacking though is definitely a bonus when I do not have to be conscious of my partners needs as well as mine. I will be wrapping up the training week tomorrow after work with a dynamic upper day to put the first week of the cycle in the books! Until next time.

Leave a Reply

