6/12/16 – Week 1, Day 1 – Max Effort Lower

After a long deload week I kicked off another training cycle today. Last week for various reasons I went about my deload by focusing on stretching and stayed away from weights. I took this time to get my nutrition back on track and stock up on what I need to put together a solid eating plan. I finally have a check in the bank from work so I can finally afford to buy some quality food to supplement my training after being broke as a joke during the end of the school year. The first session of this training cycle went fairly well, my only complaint is that I felt pretty week after not touching a weight for a week but my conditioning and mobility seemed to be on point. The session went as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Front Squat
    • 45×10, 95×5, 135×5, 185×5, 225×5, 275×3, 295×3, 315×3
    • 205×5, 235×5, 265×5
  • Paused Back Squat
    • 225×8, 245×7, 265×6
  • Stiff Leg Deadlift
    • 225×10, 275×9, 275×9
  • Pull Throughs – 4×20
  • Paused Hypers (on Glute-Ham Raise) – 3×12
  • Standing Cable Ab Pulldowns – 4×15

I chose to do front squats as my max effort variation for the squat emphasis days for this six weeks for a few reasons. It is easy to do with minimal spotting assistance, I have no safety squat bar to use as an alternative, and it will force me to keep my upper body tight which is a point of emphasis for me during this training program. I have mentioned that my schedule this summer is hectic and by that I simply mean very long hours (usually twelve hours a day) for a majority of the week (usually six days a week). I am hoping that this will be reduced now that I am entering my fourth week of work and have been trained for the most part. I am now working nights for half of my work days as well which affords me the opportunity to train before going in to work. This was the case with today’s training and it seems to have worked wonderfully. Tomorrow I will again train before work and hit max effort upper work. I am 90% sure that I will be using incline bench as my bench variation but reverse band bench is another choice I have thrown around. I appreciate everyone who has hung in there and offered me encouragement over the last few weeks. The end of last semester and the summer hit me hard but I am pushing back and impleementing a new game plan to prosper through it. Adapt and conquer.

The workout song of the week is an oldy but a goody. New Noize by Refused.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

