5/31/16 – Week 6, Day 2 – Max Effort Upper

 

Starting my internship for the summer has eliminated a huge portion of my free time already. That being said, I have still found the time make it into the gym without having to make any sacrifices in my training schedule. I really enjoy lifting during the summer as I have mentioned before. I feel like I make a lot more progress during this time away from school than any other time of the year but with that comes the adjustment process of reconditioning my body to go all out even after a full day of work. So far I have been working twelve hour days but each session I endure after these shifts is a little easier and I have been hitting some nice PRs along the way which makes it all worth the pain. As of now, all of my training sessions are up to date in my log and, Lord willing, it will remain that way. Today’s session went as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Close Grip, 2 Board Bench Press
    • 45×10, 95×5, 135×5, 185×5, 225×5, 275×3, 295×2, 315×1, 325×1, 335×1
    • 255×5, 285×3, 315×3
  • Wide Grip Bench Press
    • 185×10, 225×8, 245×8
  • Incline Dumbbell Bench
    • 55×20, 60×15, 65×13
  • Wide Grip Cable Row – 5×20
  • Hammer/Twist Dumbbell Curls – 3×12
  • Bench Dips – 4×20
  • Stir the Pot – 4×10

I have settled back into my summer routine as far as nutrition and prehab work is concerned. After I finish up my next to training sessions I can take a deload week which should help me reorganize and set up a better plan for training over the summer. My sessions have been feeling good thus far but there are days where I can tell that my pace and exertion are not sustainable for three entire months. As I mentioned I am going to be keeping this much more up to date in the coming weeks hopefully. For now, I am going to get to bed and rest up for my coming days off of work where I will be getting some quality time put in the gym. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

