5/11/16 – Week 3, Day 3 – Dynamic Effort Lower

My first dynamic effort day in two weeks went fairly smoothly today. I chose to stick with mostly band movements today as I am going to be hitting my dynamic upper day in the morning and want to recover quickly. My low back is still inflamed from my heavy work on Saturday at the compound so I made sure to focus on form technique and explosion on the lifts today. I have made a lot of progress over the past year in fixing my training so that I minimize nagging injuries that had begun to pop up and want to keep that trend going. The session went as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squat (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Bands)
    • 260x6x2, 250×5, 285×3, 315×5
  • Speed Sumo Deadlift (vs. Elitefts Short Light Bands)
    • 330x4x1
  • Walking Lunges – 3×20
  • Band Leg Curls – 4×20
  • Lat Pulldowns – 3×20
  • Stir the Pot – 4×20

I have started to acquire a training crew at the local gym here at home. It is awesome to be able to pick up lifting partners who push each other and it makes training that much more enjoyable especially during the summer when I’m away from my Purdue Barbell family. I am training differently than these guys but just being around other people my age that like to hit the gym hard adds to the intensity of the sessions and I can tell that if things keep going as they are I am going to make a lot of progress this summer. As I said, I am closing out my training week tomorrow morning which should allow me to be plenty rested for heavy block pulls this weekend. Two weeks ago I was very happy with how my pulls went and I expect nothing less this coming week. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

