5/7/16 – Week 3, Day 1 – Max Effort Lower

I took my max effort squat training over to London, OH again this week to spend the morning at the Elitefts S4 Compound. Nic Edmondson, a team mate of mine, and myself made the trip East to hit heavy squat work. Nic is currently in meet prep and was taking circa max attempts while I stuck to my offseason work and hit a huge PR on box squats vs. bands. The session looked like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Straight Bar Box Squat (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Bands)
    • 45×10, 135×5, 225×5, 275×3, 315×3, 365×3, 385×3, 405×3, 425×3
    • 275×5, 315×5, 365×5
  • Pit Shark
    • 225×10, 315×10, 405×10
  • Reverse Hypers – 4×10
  • Lying Leg Curls – 4×10
  • Standing Pulldown Abs – 3×10

I know I sound like a broken record but training at the compound is an absolute blast every time. Joe Schillero was gracious enough to join us in training, spotting, and coaching for the session. Just to bring things into perspective as far as my new PR for this session goes, two weeks ago when I first hit box squats vs. bands my top set of three was 315 lbs. During this session I hit 425 lbs. Now obviously I did not get 110 lbs stronger on this movement in two weeks time, I probably did not lift enough last time, but having a solid crew around you to push you and let you worry about nothing but smashing the weight makes all the difference.

Now that I’m back on track with my training schedule I can start feeling out what days of the week will be working best for my training over the summer. Once I get that set my training log posts will be more regular and spread out more evenly. Max effort upper training will be coming up next and I am looking to destroy my three rep max on 2 board bench press. I am also going to be bringing back my workout song of the week in my posts. This week I have chosen Black Betty by Spiderbait which is actually the song that is playing in my video above. Enjoy!

Until next time!

 

Leave a Reply

