4/7/16 – Week 5, Day 3 – Post Meet Volume Training – Back

Having a training day dedicated to working on my back is really showing me how much I need to improve in that area. My mid-back has always been naturally strong but my lower and upper portions seem to be lacking. Looking back, this should have been a pretty obvious indicator that I needed to start bringing up my lower back or else it was gonna give as it did during meet prep last Fall. Thankfully, Brandon has me running this program and giving me a chance to focus on bringing up some weaknesses that get overlooked during my normal offseason training with the big compound movements. Today’s session looked like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Lat. Pulldowns
    • 120×10, 140×10, 140×10
    • Drop Set (140, 100, 75, 50, 25)
  • Neutral Grip Cable Row
    • 160×12, 180×12, 200×12
  • Face Pulls – 3×12
  • Dumbbell Pullovers
    • 45×15, 50×15, 55×15
  • Rack Pull (Below Knee)
    • 135×10, 225×5, 315×5, 365×5, 405×5, 455×5, 475×5, 495×5
  • Glute-Ham Hypers – 4 Sets to Failure
  • Cable Ab Pulldowns – 4×20 (10 Front, 5 Right Oblique, 5 Left Oblique)

Today’s training lineup allowed me to get some relatively heavy lifting in. This time around, we hit rack pulls up to a heavy set of 5. Normally I would try to pull these from a sumo setup but I chose to setup in conventional today in order to stay balanced and see if I have lost anything off my conventional pull. I probably could have bumped up once or twice more but all I could hear in my head after the last set was Brandon telling me to shut it down after I could feel my form starting to break down. Only five training days remain in this program until it’s time for a deload. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

