3/29/16 – Week 4, Day 2 – Post Meet Volume Training – Chest/Shoulders

This week has been interesting to say the least. Having a vehicle break down on me not once but twice, a trashed phone, and all around unfortunate series events tried to throw my training schedule out of whack. However, when the gym is your outlet for getting away from this kind of BS it just makes it that much easier to stay on track! After a lackluster leg session last Saturday, I was bound and determined to redeem myself for on chest and shoulders this week and that is just what I did. Ethan and I hit the gym hard and the rest is history. Things broke down as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Incline Dumbbell Bench Press
    • 60×8, 70×8, 80×8, 85×8
    • 2 Drop Sets (60, 40, 25)
  • Incline Dumbbell Flys
    • 20×20, 25×20, 25×20
  • Machine Press
    • 150×12, 170×12, 180×12, 190×12
  • Deficit Push Ups
    • 2 Sets to Failure
  • Lateral Raises
    • 4×20
    • Drop Set
  • Rear Delt Flys
    • 4×15
    • Drop Set
  • Overhead Press
    • 105×8, 115×8, 125×8
  • Hanging Leg Raises
    • 4×10

I believe that Brandon may have been trying to murder us with drop sets today but I appreciate his faith in my shoulders and their ability to stay attached even through the overhead pressing. When we were getting started with the incline work for the chest my shoulders did begin to ache in a way that I haven’t felt for a while so I took a little time to hit some band traction movements and get them loosened up. By the time we were into the shoulder specific work the ache had transformed into an awesome pump. I am thankful for days of training such as this where I am feeling great and can push myself in order to see what I am capable of doing. I am not sure but I think Brandon was probably trying to pace us on the overhead press during the session by sticking it at the end of the days work so we didn’t do anything stupid like going too heavy and messing ourselves up. Either way, all the weights moved very well today, my body felt good, and I am looking forward to the rest of the training week. I would like to give a special shoutout to Rachel Nelson, a good friend of mine, for keeping me on my toes with my log posts and always offering me encouragement when I need it the most. You’re the best girl!

In other news, as I have written a post about already, Purdue Barbell was given the chance to train at Elitefts over Spring Break and about six of us travelled to London, OH to do so. While we were there, the media department video taped our training and interviewed us along with Brandon Smitley, our coach. They put together a video which is available on their YouTube channel but I have added below. It is a huge honor for the team to be recognized and highlighted by this great company. I hope you enjoy!

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

