3/16/16 – Week 2, Day 3 – Post Meet Volume Training – Max Effort Bench and Volume Back

You may be wondering why I hit heavy bench presses today considering I am running a high volume program, one that involves zero competition bench pressing, and the answer is that I got to train at the Elitefts S4 Compound today! This being the case, it would be absolutely insane not to travel to this mecca of powerlifting and not attempt to break some PRs. Brandon offered to set us up with a visit and training session at the compound this week and, being on Spring Break, a group of us from PBB jumped on the chance. I was able to train here last year at about the same time and I was just as star struck this time as the last. If you have never heard of this place of the company, stop reading immediately and look it up. You are doing yourself a disservice not to. While we were there, I decided to work up to a heavy single on the bench before hitting the back work that was actually programmed for the day. Having Brandon right there made it easy to get instant feedback and make adjustments that will hopefully get me back on track. The session looked like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Bench Press
    • 55×10, 105×10, 145×10, 235×3, 285×3, 305x2x1 325×1
  • Seated Cable Rows – 6×10
  • Lat Pulldowns – 4×8
  • Dumbbell Pullovers – 3×12
  • Pull Ups – 2 Sets to Failure
  • Band Good Mornings (Using Elitefts Pro Average Band) – 3×25
  • Lying Leg Raises – 4×10

The hardest part about training at this place is honestly deciding on what equipment to use for the accessory work. I am not joking when I say that there is one or more pieces of everything that elitefts makes in that gym. Below I will make a list of the things I used during this session along with a little description/review and add the URLs so you can take a look for yourself.

Sabertooth Bench Press Bar – As soon as Ethan and I saw this we knew we wanted to use this bar. A sabertooth bar isn’t too different from a normal texas power bar, at least for us, because it is designed for the world’s strongest benchers who are putting up 1000+ lbs. For our use, the main advantage was the awesome knurling that it had as opposed to the worn out corec bars we are used to.

http://www.elitefts.com/shop/bars-weights/bars/sabertooth-bench-press-bar.html

Mag Pronated Grip Cable Attachment – This is something that I knew I wanted to use before we even arrived at the compound. This line of cable attachments are something that I hope the club purchases in the coming years because of the way that it changes the grip to hit the lats in a different way.

http://www.elitefts.com/mag-medium-grip-pronate.html

Tsunami Lat Pulldown Bar – This is another attachment I was looking forward to using before arriving. This bad boy bends in such a way that you have to really focus on controlling the movement of the weight. I really like the pump that using this bar gives to my lats and back.

http://www.elitefts.com/level-3-tsunami-lat-pulldown-54.html

There are so many things I could write about my trip to London, OH but for now I think I’ll just keep it simple. As always, it was a great day with great people and we all learned a ton. I will be hitting an arm workout sometime later this week before starting week three of this program on Sunday once I’m back to school. Time to enjoy what is left of my break. Until next time!

 

 

Leave a Reply

