3/8/16 – Week 1, Day 2 – Post Meet Volume Training – Chest/Shoulders

Another successful training day is in the books and this time my chest and shoulders were the victim. I mind was a little off as I arrived to the gym as stresses from schoolwork are always a danger at this point in my life but it didn’t take much to get refocused and put together a killer training day. The session went like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Dumbbell Incline Press (Ramped up to Heavy Set of 10)
    • 50×10, 60×10, 65×10, 70×10, 75×10, 80×10, 85×10
  • Incline Bench Press (4×8)
    • 165×8, 165×8, 175×8, 185×8
  • Machine Press (4×8)
    • 150×8, 180×8, 200×8, 210×8
  • Dumbbell Flys – 3×20
  • Rear Delt Flys – 5×15
  • Seated Lateral Raises – 5×15
  • Ab Wheel Rollouts – 4×10

It has been a very long time since I have enjoyed an upper body pump like the one I had today at the gym. I do love training for powerlifting but there is something very satisfying about feeling your muscles blow up and get tight when hitting hypertrophy work. All of this incline work will hopefully give my bench a much needed boost out of the bottom as well. This first week on the program, I have been looking back at my past logs (not this one, I do actually keep a training log in hard copy as well) in order to see what kind of weight I was moving the last time around with these movements. Fortunately, I am already right at or ahead of where I was the last time I ran a volume cycle which means that I have lost nearly nothing from my work capacity and can make progress all the faster. Time to hit it hard and slap some more size on!

Leave a Reply

