2/20/16 – 7 Days Out – USPA Strode Station Open Meet Prep – Lower Recovery

Normally I would have had  max effort lower body day today but since today’s training session officially brings me to a week out from meet day. That being the case, as you can see, the session consisted mostly of body weight movements and some light form squats. The session went like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Squat
    • 135x3x5
  • Body Weight Lunges
    • 50 Reps
  • Planks
    • 3×60 Seconds

Aside from my short lower body training today I had the opportunity to hangout and watch Joe Schillero train this afternoon. Joe is a teammate of my coach, Brandon Smitley, on team Elitefts. If you have never heard of Joe I highly recommend looking him up. Joe is a class act and has been a great asset to Purdue Barbell as a coach and mentor. It is always a pleasure getting to watch and pick the brain of such a great lifter and person.

As far as my cut and prep goes, I woke up at 247lbs this morning leaving me with just five more pounds to get rid of during this week before weigh ins on Friday morning. I will be starting my water load tomorrow morning and finish training with a similarly light upper body day on Monday. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

