2/18/16 – 9 Days Out – USPA Strode Station Open Meet Prep – Dynamic Effort Lower

As you will see below training is getting rather short and dull as I approach meet day. The focus of training today definitely shifted from building power or speed to focusing on the consistency of my walkout and greasing the groove on the squat and deadlift. From a body standpoint, I honestly felt as good as I ever have at this point during prep for a meet. The tweaks I made to my programming really seem to be paying off. The entire session, as short as it may be, looked like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squat (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Bands)
    • 250x6x2
  • Speed Deadlift (vs. Elitefts Short Light Bands)
    • 275x4x1
  • Band Leg Curls (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Bands)
    • 3×20
  • Cable Ab Crunches
    • 3×15

At about this time in meet prep, being done with the hard work and in recovery mode, I usually start to think about the progress I have made over the past “x” number of months. When you look at yourself in the mirror everyday you tend to never see the real growth and development that has taken place. For example, yesterday I found myself watching my lifting videos from meets past. Naturally I was noticing all the things I did wrong, being loose here or not breathing right there, but in the end it really put into perspective how much I have grown and learned over the past couple of years. When you base progress on a week to week basis it is hard to see any, but remembering where you once were and knowing where you stand today is what is important. My goal is to always be the best I have ever been when I wake up each day but I think we all know growth is not linear. I have no idea what this coming meet has in store for me let alone the next year of life in general. What I do know is that I have done what I need to do to make this meet the best one I have ever had and plan on continuing that trend for years to come.

In other news, my weight is sitting at 7lbs from where it needs to be. I will start a water load on Sunday and if I can lose two more pounds before then I will be very comfortable with my progress going into weigh ins. Like I said above, I feel better than I think I ever have going into a meet and the cut does not seem to be getting to me too much at all in terms of energy levels. Everything seems to be coming together at the right time and at this point I cannot contain my excitement for meet day and the amazing times always involved when Purdue Barbell competes together. Until next time!

2 thoughts on “2/18/16 – 9 Days Out – USPA Strode Station Open Meet Prep – Dynamic Effort Lower

  1. Good luck to you in your meet! I’ve been training for the APA Regional Raw meet next week down in Clarksville, IN. Your posts keep me motivated. I had bicep tendon repair surgery about 6 months ago. And I was told I qualified for Regionals right after. I’ve trained the best I can and feel I’m ready. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

