2/13/14 – Week 5, Day 1 – USPA Strode Station Open Meet Prep – Max Effort Lower

We are officially on the downhill slide as far as meet prep is concerned as I wrapped up my final heavy(ish) deadlifting day this afternoon. I had already taken my heaviest deadlifts and squat over the course of the past two weeks so today’s training session was more or less a final opportunity to feel my opener out and finalize my setup/stance going into meet day. Fortunately I was able to sneak in a video and feel very confident in where I am at. If the weights move on meet day as they did today then I look forward to a great competition. The entire session looked like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Deadlift
    • 135×5, 225×3, 315×2, 365×2, 405×1, 455×1, 475×1, 505×1 (Opener)
  • Rack Pull
    • 535×1 (Second)
  • Bent Over Row
    • 135×15, 155×15, 165×15
  • Double Overhand Barbell Shrugs
    • 225×20, 255x2x20
  • Glute-Ham Raise – 3 Sets (20, 17, 12)
  • Planks – 3x60sec

My prehab and recovery routine I have been using during this meet prep seems to be doing the trick. Compared to the last time I was at this point in prep, I feel much much better all around from energy levels to muscle soreness. Additionally, my weight cut is is full force and I can already feel a little mental lethargy from the lack of carbs. I know though, from my last couple cuts and following Carb Back-Loading, that after a few more days my body will reach an equilibrium and I’ll feel a little better.

Monday will be the final heavy benching day before the meet followed a couple fairly regular dynamic days. The final week of prep, starting next Saturday, will basically consist of one leg day and one chest day. Both will be incredibly light (I’m talking body weight or a little more) just to move around and get a little sweat going. Recovery is the name of the game at this point, trying to be as ready as possible come meet day.

Finally, in honor of Valentine’s Day, I’ll leave you with a nice workout song to celebrate the holiday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

