2/11/16 – Week 4, Day 4 – USPA Strode Station Open Meet Prep – Dynamic Effort Upper

This is my first long(ish) form write up in a while so I’ll do my best to get caught back up on how meet prep has been going. This training session wraps up my fourth week of this prep cycle leaving me two weeks out from meet day. This weeks ME days were the heaviest days of the cycle meaning that I will be tapering from here on out. My dynamic bench day for this week looked like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Bench (vs. Elitefts Pro Monster Mini Band)
    • 170x6x3
  • Banded Bench (vs. Elitefts Pro Monster Mini Band)
    • 185×5, 205×5, 225×5
  • Arnold Press
    • 50×15, 55×15, 55×15
  • Lat Pulldown – 4×15
  • Cable Row – 3×20
  • V-Bar Pressdown – 50 Reps (1 dropset 45lb-25lb)
  • Band Flys – 50 Reps
  • Hanging Leg Raises – 4×10

170lbs is the heaviest weight I have moved for speed bench in a while and I could definitely feel the increased load. As per usual at around this time, my elbow is starting to ache after heavy squats making the bench a little uncomfortable but luckily I have dealt with this issue before and have a decent idea of how to keep it at bay. If you followed me through my last meet prep you know that I struggled with this problem then as well but have since figured out what I believe to be the issue and can take the proper measures to make sure I’m ready and healthy on met day. It is not so much an injury as it is a pain in the a** especially when I am trying to bench against bands. This leaves it up to me to trust my body and mind to know when to call it and not overdo it.

Aside from the elbow aching everything seems to be coming along as planned. I am still a little over 10lbs from where I need to weigh in on meet day but being done (for the most part) with my heavy lifting days before the meet I can now bring my weight cut up a little higher on my list of priorities. Today after my training session was my last round of carbing up and they have now been cut out along with my creatine supplementation. Over the coming week I expect to see a lot of my poundage drop off in water weight. Brandon is a great asset in regards to advising on cutting weight for a meet because he has had to cut for most if not all of his meets in recent years to make the 132lb weight class. I will be working with him from now through Feb. 26th when I weigh in, in hopes that I can finally not over-cut for this competition. All the works seems to have been put in now I just have to prepare my mind and body for the platform. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

