1/12/16 – Week 3, Day 2 – Max Effort Upper

Today wraps up my offseason max effort work before meet prep kicks off next week. Keeping with the theme thus far this week Ethan and I chose to hit our max effort movement for a heavy single as you can see below. I have had visions of hitting 315 on the incline bench for a while now but it continues to elude me. Today’s entire session looked like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Incline Bench
    • 45×10, 135×5, 185×5, 225×3, 245×1, 255×1, 265×1, 275×1
    • 205×5, 235×3, 260×3
  • Close Grip Bench
    • 225×10, 245×8, 255×5
  • Dumbbell Floor Press
    • 60×20, 70×15, 70×12
  • Cable Row – 5×20
  • Dumbbell Hammer Curls – 3×10
  • Rope Tricep Pressdowns – 4×10
  • Stir the Pot – 4×20

On all the pressing lifts today I noticed that my sticking point or “mini-max” has moved more towards the end of the press whereas it has always seemed to be just off the chest in years past. As my strength changes, I anticipate that I will start noticing more shifts in my movement patterns such as this. At first I was confused on the incline as to why I was struggling to finish the lockout but after completing close grip and floor press the consistency of the sticking spot leads me to believe that I need to start hammering the triceps to strengthen this point going into the meet.

Two more speed days are left before I begin prep on Sunday. I have begun to contemplate what my goals are going to be for the upcoming meet and by the time I am a week or two into prep and doing the competitive movements, I should have a better idea of what I can realistically attempt to hit on meet day. I will be taking it fairly easy over the next two training days since I am not deloading for meet prep. I look forward to being rested and ready to go for the upcoming cycle. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

