1/10/16 – Week 3, Day 1 – Max Effort Lower

I’m moved back in on campus and today was the first day back to training with my partner Ethan Lenn. I am not sure if it was the moving or the weather but I felt tired going into the session, nothing a scoop of pre and a whiff of nose tork couldn’t fix though! I had planned on squatting for my heavy movement today but after talking with Ethan we decided to hit heavy deadlifts again for singles. This turned out to be a nice choice, especially with the bands included. The session broke down as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Sumo Deadlift (vs. Elitefts Short Monster Mini Bands)
    • 135×5, 225×5, 315×3, 365×3, 405×1, 455×1
    • 315×3, 365×3, 405×6
  • Sumo Deadlift (3 Count Pause at Knee)
    • 275×3, 315×3, 345×3
  • Paused Front Squat
    • 185×12, 205×10, 225×8
  • Glute-Ham Raise – 4×20
  • Upper Back Extension (On GHR Machine) – 3×20
  • Cable Ab Pulldowns – 4×10

This was my final offseason max effort lower training day until after the meet that Purdue Barbell will be going to this February 27th. Three more training days are left before I get back into my meet prep cycle and start focusing in on my opener and refining technique on the big three lifts. Everything seems to be moving according to plan so I will continue to do everything as well as I can and let the chips fall where they may. I am starting to feel the excitement stirring up as meet day gets closer and closer. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

