1/7/15 – Week 2, Day 2 – Max Effort Lower

I finally decided what max effort variation to hit for this single deadlift day in the mini-offseason program I am running. Rack pulls won out in the end for a few reasons; one, because I failed at the knee during my last meet showing me where my weak point is during my pulls and two, to prove to myself that my back is capable of handling the heavy weight and face my fear or throwing something out. The rack pulls today felt very solid and I enjoyed a day of heavy pulling with some actual weight on the bar. The entire session looked like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Sumo Rack Pulls
    • 135×5, 225×5, 315×3, 365×3, 405×3, 455×3, 495×3, 515×3
    • 335×5, 385×5, 435×6
  • Deficit Conventional Deadlift
    • 225×10, 255×6
  • Paused Front Squats
    • 185×8, 205×8, 225×8
  • Pull Throughs – 4×20
  • Back Ext. Off GHR – 3×20
  • Hanging Leg Raises – 4×20

Ever since last meets prep cycle when I tweaked something in my lower back I have been shying away from heavy weight on deadlifts. At first I was simply trying to get healthy and protect myself but recently I have been reevaluating my technique and watching old film to see where the issue truly lies. Eventually I came to the conclusion that I needed to adjust a few things in order to put myself in a better position on this movement. I believe, and this is coming from a non-professional self-evaluation based on my own experience and knowledge, that I had a weakness that needed to be addressed in my lower back and that my technique on the deadlift was putting my body in a position which exposed that weakness. During this offseason I have been focused on both bringing up this weakness and correcting my form so as to allow my body to heal and prevent this issue going forward. Today was the first day that I decided to let go, trust my body and training, and go all out once again on max effort pulling. I was not disappointed and I feel very confident in my deadlift going forward. I am very excited to get back to training as hard as possible with all the lifts and just have fun again without having to worry or “proceed with caution”. I anticipate great things in the future for my training. Until next time!

 

Leave a Reply

