1/4/15 – Week 2, Day 1 – Max Effort Upper

The start of week two in this mini-offseason program went off without a hitch. After looking back at past training logs, I seem to be slightly weaker on the incline than the last time I used it as my max effort movement but the incline has always been my achilles heel so as long as my shoulders are holding up and I am making progress on the lift during this cycle I will take whatever weight I can handle and count it as a win. The entire session looked like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Incline Bench Press
    • Bar x5, 95×5, 135×5, 185×3, 225×3, 235×3, 245×3, 255×3, 265×3
    • 175×5, 195×5, 225×5
  • Wide Grip Bench Press
    • 225×10, 245×8, 265×4
  • Incline Dumbbell Press
    • 50×20, 60×15, 65×12
  • Kroc Rows
    • 75×10, 85×10, 90×10, 95×10, 100×10
  • Dumbbell Hammer Curls – 3×10
  • V-Bar Cable Tricep Pressdowns – 4×20
  • Cable Ab Pulldowns – 4×20

I was able to hit close grip on the incline bench for a triple with the same weight I hit for a triple with a normal grip last week. Using incline obviously increases the range of motion for my already gorilla-length arms so this makes me very happy with the progress I have made on my triceps and power coming off the chest.

I’m not sure exactly what I did yesterday afternoon following my dynamic lower day to fix my lower back but I will definitely be continuing to do it. I woke up this morning feeling very close to 100% as far as recovery is concerned and, having a lower impact day on the incline bench, I anticipate that trend to continue. For the last couple offseasons I have fought with getting my recovery protocol figured out to where I am at my best every time I train and I feel like I am getting very close. I will need to get my training switch back to normal (lower body days before upper body days) but I will get to that after my max effort lower day coming either tomorrow or Wednesday. More good things to come, until next time!

Leave a Reply

