12/18/15 – Week 5, Day 3 – Dynamic Effort Lower

I am finally all moved home for Winter Break with only one final standing between me and three weeks of relaxation. I had to change up my heavy good morning that I have been hitting on DE Lower days by using a straight bar instead of the safety squat bar I’ve been using the last four weeks. This turned out to be a Godsend as I was able to lower the bar on my back and take some pressure off going into my deload next week. I was also able to get some videos as you’ll see which is always a nice bonus of being back home to train. The entire session looked like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squat (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Bands)
    • 225x8x2, 235×5, 275×3, 300×10
  • Good Mornings from Pins
    • 135×5, 185×3, 225×3, 275×3, 295×3, 315×3, 335×3, 355×3, 365×3
  • Speed Deadlift (vs. Elitefts Short Light Bands)
    • 300x6x1
  • Leg Press – 3×15
  • Pull Throughs – 4×20
  • Neutral Grip Lat Pulldown – 3×20
  • Cable Ab Pulldowns 4×10

Above I posted both videos from today. The dynamic squats in the top video felt really good but in the video look high. I did not have Ethan with me today to tell me if I was high or if it is just the angle on the camera. Either way, it is something worth keeping an eye on as I get closer to meet prep once again and start to tune things up. The good mornings on the other hand were a very nice PR to get today. This is the first time I have done heavy good mornings with a straight  bar and I was not expecting to get this much weight. Good mornings have been a week point for me as they make me use that lower back that always seems to be my achilles heel. This offseason I have really been hammering the back and trying to fix this issue with warm-ups, heavy lifts, etc… I anticipate for this to really help me move forward and see some stability improvement once I start attempting openers in the coming weeks.

As far as training goes, I have yet to decide if I am going to get up early and make it to the gym for the DE Upper day that I have programmed to round out this offseason cycle. I will be on vacation next week with limited weight room equipment access but also have a final exam tomorrow morning. It will probably come down to being a gametime decision based on how I feel at 5:3o am tomorrow. IF I don’t make it into the gym tomorrow I will be able to hit plenty of upper body work to make up for it during my deload. This also means that I will not be able to post next week but will be back in force for an abbreviated offseason cycle after I return. With that, I wish everyone a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Until next year!

Leave a Reply

