12/12/15 – Week 5, Day 1 – Max Effort Lower

I was able to make it to our weekly team training session today for the first time in a while and I will begin this post by saying that it was very nice getting to see everyone. The goal going into today, my final heavy leg day before my deload, was to set a new PR on the SSB vs. Light Bands. Things seemed to move very well today and I am making great strides with my performance in the squat especially in the area of technique and focus. The session looked like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Squats (Using safety squat bar vs. Elitefts Pro Light Bands)
    • Bar x5, 135×5, 185×3, 225×3, 255×3, 275×1, 295×1, 315×1, 335×1, 355×1
    • 265×5, 300×3, 335×2
  • Close Stance, Paused Squat
    • 185×12, 205×10, 225×8
  • Good Morning to Box Squat
    • 135×12, 155×10, 175×8
  • Glute-Ham Raise – 4 Sets
  • Back Attack – 3×20
  • Cable Ab Pulldowns – 4×10

After finishing this session my legs are no longer functioning properly but I can tell I definitely got better today. I was able to catch up with some teammates and really destress after a rough few weeks of school work. If I can continue to have sessions like today and go all out, the results at the meet coming up in February should be impressive. For now, it is time to spend some time focusing the finals I have coming up. I plan to push my ME Upper day back to Monday so that I can use my Sunday to get some studying in. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

