12/9/15 – Week 4, Day 3 – Dynamic Effort Lower

Once again, I broke my regular training schedule and got into the gym at around 7:30 this morning. Even though this is not normally my desired training time and hasn’t been for a couple years, the weight seemed to move well and I felt very fresh. Since my school work is starting to lighten up I have been enjoying my time in the gym much more with a lot less on my mind. This mornings session looked like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squat (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Bands)
    • 250x6x2
  • Good Mornings From Pins (Using Safety Squat Bar)
    • Bar x5, 135×5, 185×5, 225×3, 235×1, 245×1, 255×1
    • 190×5, 215×3, 245×3
  • Speed Sumo Deadlift (vs. Elitefts Short Light Bands)
    • 330x4x1
    • 340×2
  • Leg Press (One Leg)
    • 390×15, 440×12, 480×12
  • Band Leg Curls (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Band) – 4×20
  • Straight Arm Pulldown – 3×20
  • Ab Rollouts – 4×10

For speed deadlifts today I was supposed to do 3 back down sets, a set of 5, 3 and an AMAP set to finish it off. During my first back down set I ended up calling it after the second rep. For some reason things didn’t feel right in my lower back and with my history of injury there I had no desire to get laid up going into finals week. There is definitely an issue in my lower back that needs to be address and I will be having a talk with Brandon in the near future to try and pinpoint the issue. Outside of that, everything is coming along as expected for this off-season and as I mentioned in my last post, I will be using my upcoming deload to set up a timeline of what I want to accomplish in the coming year. Tomorrow will see me hitting a dynamic upper session to round out the week and then one more week of training before a much needed vacation and deload. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

