Happy Thanksgiving!

My Thanksgiving Day began at around 4:45 this morning when I hauled my butt out of bed to get to the gym. For the past five or six years, it has been a tradition in my family to volunteer at the local YMCA on Thanksgiving morning helping out with their annual 5K “Turkey Trot”. Additionally, my father and I usually get to the gym extra early to lift a little before the day starts. This morning I hit a nice, short workout that was meant more for recovery than anything, the details of which are really not worth mentioning.

What is worth mentioning is what I am thankful for today:

  • I am thankful for an awesome family that supports me in all my endeavours.
  • I am thankful for a group of people that are not only my team but also the greatest friends that push me to be the best I can be.
  • I am thankful for  my brothers in Chauncey Cooperative that have my back no matter what.
  • I am thankful for the opportunity to gain an education at one of the nation’s top universities, and follow a passion of mine.
  • I am thankful for being introduced to powerlifting which has opened the door to more opportunities than I can begin to list.
  • I am thankful for every ounce of food that I will consume today and having multiple excellent cooks in my family that probably are the reason for my body size to begin with.

This is most definitely a partial list as this would be a never ending post if I tried to name everything. Thanksgiving has always been a time to reflect on and simplify what you have been gifted with in life. So many times I find myself focused on the negative that it is truly a blessing to take time to look at the good. I have been blessed beyond measure over the past few years being introduced to powerlifting and the group of people that it has allowed me to connect with. I cannot imagine having my college experience going any other way. I hope that you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving Day filled with family, food, and football (Go Bears). So once again, Happy Thanksgiving, may you have a blessed day.

Leave a Reply

