11/25/15 – Week 2, Day 4 – Dynamic Effort Upper

I made it home for Thanksgiving Break today and was able to train with my little brother at our local gym this morning. I had to switch up my routine slightly due to equipment restrictions but on the other hand I was able to hit some lifts that normally aren’t available. The session went like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Bench (vs. Elitefts Pro Mini Band)
    • 135x9x3, 185×5, 210×5, 240×7
  • Arnold Press
    • 40×15, 45×15, 50×12
  • Machine Neutral Grip Row – 5×20
  • Machine Delt Raises – 3×10
  • Skull Crushers – 4×10
  • Weight Sit-Ups – 3×10

Being home already has me feeling much more relax and focused on my training. I have mentioned before about how much the quality of your training relies on your mental state and I stand by that statement to this day. Today’s training was fun, plain and simple. I enjoy being able to walk into the gym with nothing on my plate except hitting the weights hard and seeing what I am capable of. When other troubles from outside the gym start creeping into your thoughts things seem to go downhill fast. I know personally, I have to take a moment at times to slow myself down before beginning my session so that I can get my head right. In the end, I go to the gym to get away from the crap outside and do what I enjoy. Stressing your body and your mind at the same time is nothing but a recipe for disaster.

In other news, I will probably be hitting a light, non-programmed workout early in the morning before volunteering at a local 5K run. I plan on stretching out and doing some recovery work (aka: arms) so that I can justify the massive amount of food I plan on consuming for the rest of the day. Saturday will start the 3rd of 4 weeks in this cycle. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

