11/17/15 – Week 1, Day 3 – Dynamic Effort Lower

After a crazy beginning to the week I have finally gotten to update the training log. The first week of beta test is over halfway done at this point and I am already feeling the aches of switching up the training routine. My body should adapt to the change up in training style fairly quickly but for now I will be limping around. My first dynamic session of the program went like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squat (vs. Elitefts Light Bands)
    • 250x6x2, 250×5, 285×3, 315×7
  • Safety Squat Bar Good Mornings from Pins
    • 135×3, 225×3
  • Speed Deadlift (vs. Elitefts Light Bands)
    • 365x4x1
  • One Legged Leg Press
    • 315x3x10
  • Leg Curl – 4×20
  • Straight Arm Lat Pulldown – 3×10
  • Planks – 4x60sec

As expected, I don’t feel quite as powerful in certain aspects of my main lifts as I ever have but I am definitely far off. By the time this offseason is over I expect to make a lot of progress even compared to offseasons past. At this point it looks as though I will be competing again in late February which gives me roughly 15 weeks to prepare. Lifting heavy weight again is feeling great and aside from the stress on my body from the increased load things seem to be moving rather smoothly. I guess it’s like riding a bike. On Thursday I will be rounding out the week with a dynamic upper session which I am greatly looking forward to.

On a side note, this Sunday the barbell team is putting on a powerlifting meet at the campus corec. I will be spotting and loading for the day so if anyone with a purdue student ID is interested in coming to watch it should be an awesome time with friends and big lifts. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

