11/12/15 – Deload Day 3 – Upper Body

Another deload session is in the books and intense, offseason training is right around the corner. I was really hoping that Brandon’s program would have a barbell in my hands today for my light upper body work but that was not in the cards. These deload sessions may appear to be very lax but in all honesty they seem to be exactly the right amount of movements to get my blood pumping but also stimulate recovery and allow me to de-stress from school and training. The session looked like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Feet Elevated Push-Ups – 3 Sets (20, 18, 15)
  • Inverted Rows – 3 Sets (20, 15, 15)
  • Pressdowns – 50 Reps
    • Note: I did these in one huge drop set from 70lbs to 40lbs
  • Band Flys – 50 reps
  • Band Pull Aparts – 100 reps
  • Ab Wheel Rollouts – 3×12 then 1 Set of 5 with a 3 count hold

I was feeling much better during today’s session than my first two deload days. Part of this is due to my recovery from whatever stupid sickness was clogging up my head but I definitely came with the right mentality as well. Even on slow days like today, being in the zone and focused on the task at hand can make all the difference. I left the gym today feeling better than I have in a long time which boosts my confidence that much more for the coming powerlifting cycles I will be completing. Good things are coming, I guarantee it. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

