The Great Training Update: Covering Oct. 29th Through Nov. 5th

What I’ve Been Doing

It became evident this week that I would not be able to post individual log updates due to time constraints and the fact that I find it hard to believe that you care what my 10 rep max is on bicep curls. Instead, I thought it would be a much better idea to wait until I had the time to put together a decent post outlining my progress and outlook for the coming months of training. As of today, I have finally finished my post meet, high volume program Brandon had me on and I can say with all honesty that it was time to be done. I enjoyed training in a way that is out of the ordinary and doing different things but my itch to get back into powerlifting training has risen to new heights. To be fair, the high volume bodybuilding split program did help me a lot to increase endurance and put some size back on. Additionally, the high workload and intensity allowed me to increase my calories without any negative effects.

What’s Next?

Going forward, I plan on taking a deload this next week. This will allow me to finish resting up, recover, and prepare my program for the following week. I will be talking with Brandon about what max effort variations I should put into the program and, as of now, I will be back on the Beta Test program that I was on before my last meet prep over the summer. For my deload, I would like to use a pre-made deload week off of one of Brandon’s older programs just to get back into the major movements and get used to bands again. Powerlifting again also means that I will be making trips to Brandon Smitley’s place to train and hopefully getting lots of video for critiquing.

Conclusion

The semester is starting to get busy but so far I have been able to balance training and school work. I am excited to see what gains carry over from the high volume program to my powerlifting and getting back to lifting big-boy weights. I anticipate having to watch my diet a little more closely as well but it is all a work in progress and I will change one thing at a time as I transition back to powerlifting. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

