10/27/15 – Week 5, Day 3 – Back

Having a training session built into the week that focuses on the back continues to pay dividends as I begin seeing the payoff of all this high volume work. Today was the first session during which Brandon had us move some semi-heavy weight by doing rack pulls as you will see below. As soon as I set up to pull, I could feel the improved power and ability to lock in my lats. Hopefully I will continue to see the improvements I have made during this cycle as I transition back into powerlifting training in the coming weeks. Today’s session went as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Lat Pulldown
    • 130×10, 150×10, 155×10 + Drop Set
  • Cable Row (Neutral Grip)
    • 140×12, 160×12, 180×12
  • Face Pulls – 3×12
  • Dumbbell Pull-Overs
    • 55×15, 65×15, 70×15
  • Rack Pull (Below Knee)
    • 405×5, 455×5, 475×5
  • Band Good Mornings (Using Elitefts Pro Average Band)
    • 3×20
  • Rope Pressdowns – Drops Sets to Failure
  • Pikes – 2×15, 2×12

Training while being at a calorie surplus, or dang near, for this cycle has really given me chance to relax and rediscover why I started coming to the gym. As I have mentioned before, I have either been cutting or maintaining weight for years so having this boost in energy has been welcomed greatly. I can tell that I am a little more bloated out then usual (something I thought would be hard for me to handle) but in all honesty, the feeling of being able to power through a training session with the only limiting factor being time constraints and muscular endurance has trumped everything. Along with the improved performance, being able to go in the gym and get a nice pump going has been a great relief for me. Don’t get me wrong, I love powerlifting and the training that accompanies it but I would be lying if I said that it didn’t feel nice to have the arms and chest pumped up and full of blood every once in a while. I will be hitting a FULL arms session Thursday to round out week 5 of this cycle. The end is drawing near and I am excited for what lies ahead. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

