10/25/15 – Week 5, Day 2 – Chest/Shoulders

If you follow my log closely enough you will notice that I never had a training session post for arms in week 4. That would be because I have not yet completed that training session. After a rough week during which I had to re-arrange my training schedule, I simply was not in any condition to get that training session out of the way by the time Friday came around. At that time, I did not feel as though pushing myself through an arm day would only take away from the leg day which came last Saturday. I will be tacking on the arm movements to my back day this Thursday barring any further setbacks.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Dumbbell Bench Press
    • 80×8, 90×8, 100×8
  • Reverse Band Bench Press
    • 185×12, 225×12, 245×12
  • Incline Dumbbell Bench Press
    • 65×10, 75×10, 80×10
  • Incline Dumbbell Flys – 3×15
  • Rear Delt Flys
    • 20lb dumbbells for sets of 35, 30, 25, and 20
  • Bradford Press – 5×5
  • Seated Dumbbell Front Raises – 3×12
  • Weighted Planks – 3×30 sec

Using a bodybuilding, muscle group based training split has been noth and gift and a curse this last month or so. On one hand, I have avoided the feeling of getting hit by a truck after heavy deadlift sessions and subsequent energy draining but on the other, I have had to fit training session that are twice as long as normal into my already packed schedule. As I start to reflect on this cycle, I can’t help but get excited to move heavy weights again and see what I have gained and/or lost on this small detour I have taken with my training. Just from feeling my body adapt to this higher volume training, I would not be surprised if my maxes have slipped slightly however the increase in work capacity and muscle base I have gained will hopefully allow me to regain any loss in strength extremely quickly.

Going forward, I will hit that doubled up session Tomorrow, Arms again Thursday, and Then kick off the final week of this training cycle on Saturday with a legs workout. Until then!

Leave a Reply

