10/10/15 – Week 3, Day 1 – Chest/Shoulders

I made it home this morning for a long, Fall Break weekend and immediately realized that I wouldn’t be able to start a new week of training session with my regularly scheduled leg day because my home gym does not have any of the specialty equipment I am using on this program. This bummed me out but after going over the options in my head I decided to do chest/shoulders today, back tomorrow, and then hit my leg day on Tuesday when I return to campus. I could have made due and switched out some movements to make the session doable at the local gym but I really want to get the most out of my leg sessions during this cycle and that means waiting is the best option. Anyway, the session went as follows.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Dumbbell Bench
    • 70×10, 80×10, 90×10
  • Incline Bench Press
    • 185×10, 185×10, 205×10, 205×10
  • Machine Press
    • 200×10, 210×10, 220×10, 230×10
  • Band Flys (Using Elitefts Pro Monster Mini Bands) – 3×33
  • Band Pull Aparts (Using Elitefts Pro Mini Band) – 4×25
  • Lateral Raises – 4×10
  • Overhead Press
    • 135x4x6
  • Machine Crunches – 2×20

After a late night with friends and driving home this morning, my body was definitely not 100% for today’s training. I have found, however, that the best thing I can do when I’m feeling kinda crappy is get in the gym, get my blood moving, and work out the kinks. Even on my worst day I always leave the gym feeling better than when I arrived regardless of the fact that I’m usually dragging myself out the door.

All in all, today was a rather routine training session. The gym was empty which was nice but, as usual when I’m lifting alone, I got ahead of myself and did not rest enough between sets. About half way through the session I realized that I was tiring out fast and needed to slow it down. My conditioning continues to improve which is an extra bonus along with the size I’m putting on this program. I am eating more as well but with the added volume I am not really changing composition at all, just getting bigger. All of my joints and nagging aches seem to be healed up for the most part and my body is happy. Until tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

