10/7/15 – Week 2, Day 3 – Back

Today’s session was a little different simply because we waited until the late afternoon to hit the gym. The first official team meeting of the year was tonight and we wanted to kill two birds with one stone by only making one trip to the corec. Although the rec was slightly more packed than normal, we were able to get a great session in and see some old friends in the process. Training went as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Cable Row
    • 160×10, 160×10, 180×10, 200×10, 220×10, 240×10
  • Lat. Pulldown
    • 180×8, 200×8, 220×8, 220×8
  • Dumbbell Pullover
    • 60×12, 70×12, 75×12
  • Pull Ups (Using Elitefts Pro Light Band) – 2 Sets to Failure
  • Band Good Mornings (Using Elitefts Pro Average Band)
    • 3×25
  • Weighted Planks – 45x30sec, 70x30sec, 90x30sec

I am thoroughly enjoying these back workouts even though this program does not involve any real deadlifting. It has become very apparent to me that I have been neglecting my lats horrifically and hope to bring them up during this cycle. The volume continues to become less of an issue as my endurance levels rise.

I have only been running this high volume cycle for two week and I am already starting to get creeping urges to move some heavy weight again.I know, however, that this is exactly what I need right now to get healed up and ready to go when I do switch back to powerlifting training in 4 weeks. That being said, the fact that I miss moving the big boy weight puts my mind to rest in knowing that I am training for the right sport. The halfway point in this program is fast approaching and I am already seeing some growth occurring. Thursday will be an arm day to round out the second week and then its on to week three. Until next time, I’ll leave you with my workout song of the week. The Beast by Tech N9ne.

Leave a Reply

