10/1/15 – Week 1, Day 4 – Arms

I apologize for not being more consistent with my posts but they should start getting more timely from here out. Training has been going very well but my body is definitely taking some time to adjust to the huge increase in volume. Today was strictly an arm day which allowed me to focus on muscles that normally do not get worked individually when I’m in my powerlifting training. The session looked like this…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Rope Pressdowns – 4×12
  • Single Arm Pressdowns – 4×10
  • Dumbbell Skulls – 4×15
  • Barbell Curls – 4×8
  • Reverse Curls – 4×12
  • Band Curls – 3 Sets to Failure
  • Sit-ups on Glute-Ham Raise Machine – 2×20

When I walked into the gym today my arms already felt like they had been put through a full workout from my bench and back days. The volume has been hitting me hard but I’m starting to feel some endurance coming back and look forward to adding some muscle size again. School is really picking up and that means, unfortunately, that training will not be as much of a focus as it has been. Don’t get me wrong, I will be putting full effort into my training and making just as many gains as ever but I am an engineer first and foremost. This means that my sleep schedule, training schedule, and diet may not be exactly what I want always but I will work with the hand that is dealt to me and let the chips fall where they may. I purposefully put my heavy leg and bench days on the weekend which allows me to be a little more free for those sessions. Saturday will be another heavy leg day with some slight changes from next week. Once I start getting more conditioned to these workouts I will also begin cranking up the intensity and focusing on the smaller details that make good training sessions great. On a final note, these low impact sessions are allowing my body, specifically my joints, to heal up from my training over the summer and I expect to feel 100% in the coming weeks. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

