9/27/15 – Week 1, Day 2 – Chest and Shoulders

I am not going to lie. I was back in the gym on Tuesday last week. I got the bug to get a little sweat going a few days after my competition but my workout did not warrant a log post by any means. Saturday, I started my current program which is a brand new cycle from Brandon based on a high volume, bodybuilding style layout. For the next six weeks I will be training muscle groups instead of big, compound movements. I am very excited to try some things I have not done in a while and train in a way that is meant to focus on gaining size more so than strength. This should be a one cycle program I will use before going back to strictly powerlifting style training and will help me pack some size on and build up some muscular endurance.  I was a little behind getting my leg day session uploaded but it can be seen on the website in a post previous to this one. My first chest and shoulder day on this program went as follows…

  • Warm-Up and Stretch
  • Incline Dumbbell Bench
    • 60×10, 70×10, 80×10, 85×10
  • Incline Bench Press
    • 185x4x8
  • Machine Chest Press
    • 180×8, 190×8, 200×8, 210×8
  • Dumbbell Flys – 3×20
  • Rear Delt Flys – 5×15
  • Lateral Raises – 5×15
  • Hanging Leg Raises – 4×10

I cannot speak highly enough of Brandon Smitley and how he puts together his programming. Once you get into one of his programs you can really see the reasoning for every movement and rep scheme he implements. There are thousands of haphazardly thrown together programs out there that look good on paper but do not have any real substance to them. When it comes to a real training program, the focus cannot be on the individual sessions but on the macro scale of putting together a complete package that ends in the gains that the user expects.

So far, this cycle has me sorer than I have been in a long time. I have not done sets like these on these movements in a long time and I am loving it. Brandon continues to provide the team with exactly the training programs that we need for continued growth but also learning and taking away our own lessons from the work we are putting in. I expect great results even after this six week cycle and beyond as I once again start another offseason journey toward another meet sometime in the spring. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

