9/1/15 – 3 Weeks Out – Dynamic Effort Lower

Another day closer to the platform and things are starting to look like they should. Today was another solid speed day, feeling explosive with a mended lower back. On the deadlift especially, I noticed reduced tightness and I was able to get into the right position without discomfort. Training for the day broke down as follows…

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squat (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Bands)
    • 215x5x2
  • Speed Deadlift (vs. Elitefts Short Light Bands)
    • 315x4x1
  • Lying Leg Curl – 3×20
  • Leg Extension – 3×20
  • Reverse Hyper – 4×15
  • Weighted Planks – 3×30 seconds

Ethan and I threw in some leg extension and reverse hypers just to up the workload slightly and get some blood into the legs with higher rep ranges. Additionally, we tried something new on the final set of reverse hypers by having the partner not doing the movement hold their arm out so the partner that was moving could hold the movement at the top, pressing against the partners arm. This allowed us to really flex the lower back and glutes at the top creating a great burn. I am sure this will become a regular addition to our normal lower body workouts.

From a weight and meet prep standpoint, I am sitting just under 250 in the morning give or take a pound here and there. I talk to Brandon about my plans for the next couple weeks as I finish the journey to the meet and see what he thinks is best to get the last few pounds off before September 18th when I weigh in. As I mentioned, everything seems to be coming together and I look forward to putting together a solid meet and competing with my teammates. Thursday will round out my 3rd week out from the meet with some upper body speed/accessory work and I will begin my taper down for meet day. Until then!

Leave a Reply

