8/30/15 – 3 Weeks Out – Max Effort Upper

I’m back on the wagon today after a long, busy weekend. Believe it or not I have been into the gym even though I hadn’t posted a training log since last Tuesday. I think that I am finally settled into the school year and getting myself organized. The first few weeks of the semester are always busy especially when you are involved with multiple student organizations. Regardless, I have by making it to the gym as scheduled and putting in the work.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Bench Press
    • 135×5, 225×3, 275×2, 295×2, 315×2, 350×1 (to a 3 Board)
  • Close Grip Bench Press (using a 2 Board)
    • 225×3, 275×3, 295×3, 315×3, 335×3
  • Dips – 3 Sets (12, 10, 10)
  • Band Flys – 50 Reps
  • Straight Bar Curl – 2×10
  • Stir the Pot – 3×20

Bench felt very good today, especially the 3 board press with 350 on the bar. I wanted to get a video of this press but I was short on help in the gym today. I am very excited to see what I get on meet day considering how much progress I have made on the bench this offseason.

I am enjoying getting my max effort days in on the weekends when I don’t have to work around classes. The countdown has begun to meet day and after a light lower and upper day this Tuesday and Thursday I will pull within 2 weeks of being on the platform. RPS North Kentucky Throwdown here we come!

Leave a Reply

