8/25/15 – 4 Weeks Out – DE Lower

I finally had an almost pain free lower body session for the first time in two weeks and I have to say, you don’t realized how good you normally feel until you finally kick a nagging ache or pain. My lower back finally loosened up today after a couple weeks of battling, rolling out, icing, heating, and all manner of swear inducing stretches. The session went as follows.

  • Stretch and Warm-Up
  • Speed Squat (vs. Elitefts Pro Light Bands)
    • 195x6x2
  • Speed Deadlift (vs. Elitefts Short Light Bands)
    • 275x4x1
  • Glute-Ham Raise – 3 Sets (15, 12, 12)
  • Reverse Hyper – 3×10
  • Leg Extensions – 3×20
  • Weighted Planks – 3x30sec

I have to say normally dynamic lower work during meet prep is fairly monotonous. It is a kind of get in, hit your percentages on squat/deads,  and get out kind of setup. Today though, I had the most fun in the gym I have had in a while and it is simply because my back was allowing me to do what I wanted to. It didn’t hurt to sit in the leg extension machine or to bend over for reverse hypers. This workout was no more interesting from a movement standpoint then any other DE Lower day but my attitude was and that made all the difference. This is a little lesson I will have to remember (along with not falling behind on stretching and warming up to get me hurt in the first place).

Thursday will be a nice dynamic upper body workout to round out my fourth week out from the meet and then we will pull within three weeks of the platform. Now that I’m feeling better I can focus on getting my last heavy lifts in for this prep cycle and then work on recovery/making weight. My Krait knee wraps finally came in from Elitefts along with a couple tanks I ordered just to expand my collection of their apparel. If you ever need anything for training, be it equipment or apparel, make sure to check out http://www.elitefts.com. Until then!

Leave a Reply

